The Board of Directors of the Charlemagne Prize Enlists Martin Schulz

President of the EU Parliament Martin Schulz will hold the laudatory speech for this year's laureate of the Charlemagne Prize, Dalia Grybauskaitė

It has now been decided who will hold the laudatory speech in honour of this year's winner of the International Charlemagne Prize: Martin Schulz, President of the EU Parliament will honour the outstanding commitment of the Lithuanian President, Dr. Dalia Grybauskaitė, for the unity of Europe. This was announced by the speaker of the Board of Directors of the Charlemagne Prize, Dr. Jürgen Linden, and by the Lord Mayor of the City of Aachen, Marcel Philipp.

After receiving last year's Nobel Peace Prize, together with his EU colleagues, in the name of 500 million European citizens, Martin Schulz is now looking forward to holding the laudatory speech for Dalia Grybauskaitė. "Especially her great personal committedness to European integration and the exemplary development of her country have impressed me deeply," Schulz, who has known the president personally for many years and who worked closely together with her during her time in Brussels, stresses.

Following Lithuania's entry to the EU in 2004, Dalia Grybauskaite first became EU- commissioner for education and culture. Later she took over the budget and finance department. Just one year after taking office, she was awarded the title "Commissioner of the Year" for her efficient and sound work. In 2009, Grybauskaite was elected President of Lithuania with nearly 70 percent of the votes. It is the declared political goal of the popular economics expert to lead her economically very dynamic country into the Euro-zone.

The international Charlemagne Prize of Aachen, awarded in 1950 for the first time, is the oldest and most renown prize, which pays tribute to personalities or institutions in recognition of their commitment to European unification. The list of former recipients of the prize is a "Who is who" of great European personalities and cosmopolitans. Konrad Adenauer, Sir Winston Churchill, François Mitterand and Helmut Kohl, Jacques Delors, Bill Clinton, and last Wolfgang Schäuble have all been awarded this illustrious and much sought after award.